WATCH: ‘Overwatch’ Contenders EU Open Qualifier Day 1 Live Stream

38


Overwatch Contenders

Overwatch has recently announced it is launching a new league for the game. Overwatch Contenders will act as a developmental league for aspiring Overwatch League pros. Think of it as the D-League in the NBA or the minor leagues in the MLB. The tournament is exclusive to PC players. Sorry console players!

The event kicked off last week in North America and this weekend we have Europe’s open qualifier. The qualifier will start at 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT on June 10 and 11 and will last until all the matches are played. The North America qualifier lasted hours and we imagine it’ll be the same for Europe. There’s actually still time to register for Europe if you want to compete.

The first season, dubbed Season Zero, will feature an open signup and will have a prize pool of $50,000 between the two regions. Season Zero will be online-only. The top teams from Season Zero will be invited to Overwatch Contenders Season One, which will be an offline tournament and the prize pool jumps up to $100,000 per region. Players will have a chance to be picked up by teams in the Overwatch League.

You will be able to tune into today’s live stream right here as soon as it goes live at 12 p.m. CEST (6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT). Sorry about that time change, Get comfy because it will last a while. Hopefully we’ll get to see some high level matches. We also realize this is a really early time (or really late) for those of you watching in the United States but this was likely done to better cooperate with the time in Europe, where the competition is being held. We still hope you’ll be able to catch the action.

You can watch the stream below. Enjoy!