‘Pokemon Sun & Moon’ Announces Next Online Competition

88


Pokemon Tiny Tourney

The new Pokemon Online Competition has been announced and it is the tiny tourney. The event will require you to build your team with Pokemon who stand less than one meter tall and have them compete in Double Battles. You will need a copy of Pokemon Sun or Moon to participate but Pokemon across all generations will be eligible. All you have to do is use the Poke Transporter to bring Pokemon from earlier generations in.

Participants will be given the Galladite, Gardevoirite and Lopunnite Mega Stones but those can’t be used in the competition. In order to receive the stones, you must complete at least three battles. Pokemon can use held items in battle but Mega Stones are barred from the competition.

Registration for the tiny tourney begins Wednesday, June 14, 2017, at 00:00 UTC (8 p.m ET / 5 p.m. PT). The competition goes from Friday, June 23, at 00:00 UTC, until Sunday, June 25, 2017, at 23:59 UTC. Trainers will be limited to 15 battles per day. A Pokemon Trainer Club membership is required to participate.

The competition will be divided into two separate divisions based on age. The Junior/Senior Division is for players born 2002 or later while the Masters Division is for player born 2001 or earlier.

There has been a lot of Pokemon related news lately. Just a few days ago, a new Pokemon mobile game popped up called Pokemon Magikarp Jump where players raise a Magikarp to see how high it can jump. It’s silly but you can somehow get some long-term enjoyment out of it.

If you own Pokemon Sun or Moon, make sure you pick the four free Mega Stones currently available through a free code. The four stones are used to Mega Evolve Pidgeot, Steelix, Heracross and Houndoom.

Earlier this month, there were rumors floating around regarding the third title in the Pokemon Sun and Moon generation called Pokemon Stars. The game is said to be a Nintendo Switch exclusive despite the Sun and Moon being 3DS exclusives. Japan is launching a line of merchandise called “Look Upon the Stars” that has just stoked the rumor bonfire even more. The rumors have died down significantly and if there is any announcement, it’ll likely come at E3.